Category Archives for "Uncategorized"


Lump Sum (one off) Withdrawals If you are planning any large acquisitions in July that will require drawing down on your investments, superannuation or pension accounts, please be aware that most investment managers delay redemptions in the first weeks of the new financial year as they finalise their end of year accounts.To avoid any issues, we recommend […]

Continue reading
  • 17/06/2020

The problem with the term ‘balanced’…

Last week I talked about investment returns not necessarily to blow our own trumpet, but more to give reassurance that diversification works and that building in some downside protection can reduce the very big swings, single asset classes can have. In the coming weeks we are going to spend a bit of time (with your […]

Continue reading
  • 16/06/2020

Calm the Farm!

May, 15, 2020 Investment markets continue to fluctuate on the news cycle.  Better than expected unemployment numbers (still -14.7%) in the US and lots of rhetoric about lockdown easing’s saw a small rally last week and then this week markets lost most of that ground on the basis of sobering growth numbers on the global […]

Continue reading
  • 15/05/2020

Unlocking the door

Lots of good news on easing of restrictions this week (unless you are in Victoria) and this has had a positive impact both here and in global markets. Not all the changes will immediately come into effect this week or even the next, but the conversation is now about opening Australia for business rather than […]

Continue reading
  • 15/05/2020

April 2020 Update: Get your Candles Out!

Get your candles out! Its time to recognise all of the efforts that are made in the name of our personal freedoms by our military personnel, past and present.  ANZAC day is always an important entry in the Australian calendar and we, at RFS, take this a little more personally, as we have Sarah’s brother […]

Continue reading
  • 24/04/2020

RFS Advice update. Yep, still here!

April 3rd 2020 Another week and yet more, much needed, government spending initiatives… It is slightly surreal, seeing our government functioning well through a crisis.  There are always a few niggles and point scoring but the LNP, Labour party and unions with the co-operation of the states, all seem to be focused on the job at […]

Continue reading
  • 03/04/2020

Eligibility for the $750 government payment

An update on government support, April 1, 2020. We are a bit confused so you probably are as well… The below is how we think it works after sourcing some good technical support. The first bit is easy… Who is eligible? Generally Australian residents with an eligible income support payment or those who hold an eligible concession […]

Continue reading
  • 01/04/2020

Services that may assist you or a loved one during isolation

Social isolation may be easy for some, but has proven a difficult task for many. There’s never been a more important time to check in with loved ones and ask, “Are you okay?”… Below we’ve listed a variety of handy online services to help make a period of self isolation a little easier, and whilst […]

Continue reading
  • 31/03/2020

Early Access to Superannuation

Government offer access to a portion of your Superannuation to help you through this difficult period… What does it mean? For anyone impacted by the Coronavirus and with enough funds in their superannuation you can apply to withdraw $10,000 of your balance in the current financial year (1 Jul 2019 – 30 Jun 2020) and […]

Continue reading
  • 27/03/2020